Send To Printer Email to Friend

From: "Jack Oliver" Jack.Oliver@RNC.ORG
Subject: Ashcroft Alert
Date sent: Mon, 29 Jan 2001 17:26:15 -0500

Dear Fellow Republican:

Some liberal Democrats are at it again. Following a “closed door meeting” with other Democrats on the Senate Judiciary Committee, ranking member Patrick Leahy (D-VT) announced some Democrats “will delay” a vote on the nomination of John Ashcroft that had been scheduled for Wednesday. These Democrats are working with radical groups like People For The American Way, NOW and NARAL to attack Senator Ashcroft and distort his record. The attacks and smears on John Ashcroft have hit an all-time low, and must stop.

The goal of the anti-Ashcroft coalition is to delay the vote in the hope that their smear TV ads and letter writing campaigns will persuade a majority of the Senate to vote against this good man.

Senator Ashcroft needs your help. Please call, fax and e-mail the Democratic Senators listed at the end of this letter who have not yet announced their stand on Ashcroft or have come out against him. Tell them that the politics of personal destruction must stop, and urge them to support the nomination of John Ashcroft.

Take a moment to read the truth about Senator Ashcroft by visiting our special website at http://www.rnc.org/ashcroft.htm. Forward this e-mail to your friends and family and encourage them to send it on their e-mail lists. Thank you.


Jack Oliver
RNC Deputy Chairman

P.S. - Please contact these Senators today, and forward this e-mail to as many people as you can!

Baucus, Max (Montana) max@baucus.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-2651/Fax: 202-228-3687

Biden, Joe (Delaware) senator@biden.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-5042/Fax: 202-224-0139

Bingaman, Jeff (New Mexico) senator_bingaman@bingaman.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-5521/Fax: 202-224-2852

Breaux, John (Louisiana) senator@breaux.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-4623/Fax: 202-228-2577

Carnahan, Jean (Missouri) senator_carnahan@carnahan.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-6154/Fax: 202-228-0043

Cleland, Max (Georgia) senator_max_cleland@cleland.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-3521/Fax: 202-224-0072

Durbin, Dick (Illinois) dick@durbin.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-2152/Fax: 202-228-0400

Feingold, Russ (Wisconsin) russell_feingold@feingold.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-5323/Fax: 202-224-2725

Hollings, Fritz (South Carolina)
Phone: 202-224-6121/Fax: 202-224-4293

Kennedy, Ted (Massachusetts) senator@kennedy.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-4543/Fax: 202-224-2417

Kohl, Herb (Wisconsin) senator_kohl@kohl.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-5653/Fax: 202-224-9787

Landrieu, Mary (Louisiana) senator@landrieu.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-5824/Fax: 202-224-9735

Leahy, Patrick (Vermont) senator_leahy@leahy.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-4242

Lieberman, Joe (Connecticut) senator_lieberman@lieberman.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-4041/Fax: 202-224-9750

Lincoln, Blanche (Arkansas) Blanche_lincoln@lincoln.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-4843/Fax: 202-228-1371

Nelson, Ben (Nebraska)
Phone: 202-224-6551/Fax: 202-228-0012

Schumer, Chuck (New York) senator@schumer.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-6542/Fax: 202-228-3027

Torricelli, Robert (New Jersey) senator_torricelli@torricelli.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-3224/Fax: 202-224-8567

Wyden, Ron (Oregon) senator@wyden.senate.gov
Phone: 202-224-5244/Fax: 202-228-2717

The REAL Facts on Senator Ashcroft’s Record For more detailed information, visit http://www.rnc.org/ashcroft.htm.

_________________________________________________ Paid for by the Republican National Committee.